Giving life

Personification was a challenging subject to me. It means giving human traits to an object. Giving characteristics, feelings, qualities and actions. Transforms the objects into subjectified characters by imposing ourselves into the objects. How we see or treat objects will result in different perceptions for example the lighting, colour, background, voice and sound.

One of many ways in drawing objects with human traits is by composition, contrast and talkative mark. The aim is to enchant audience and engage them into the story.

My first personification task is to depict Rumpelstiltskin story written by Brothers Grimm. I’ve chosen to use a candle, a burnt out matches, a whisk, a dry onion, and an iPod for the characters in the story.

Rumpelstiltskin

Rumpelstiltskin

King and I

King and I

I chose candle as the Miller’s daughter because I feel that the candle represent softness. She is a good daughter who obey her father’s and king’s wishes. I chose a whisk as the king because the wire’s form is similar to a crown and its solid materials. The king is greedy. I characterised him by adding devil’s shadow to depict his evil and dictatorial nature. The devil shadow keeps growing as the king’s greediness grows. The miller is represented by a burnt out matches. The way the matches naturally bend over gave an impression of an old age person with little personality.

Rumpel and I
Rumpel and I

The dry onion represent Rumpelstiltskin. Onion have a distinctive smell that I consider to be stinky. The dry skin had helped me in giving him the wicked characteristic by agitated mark making.

Gold Gold Gold

Gold Gold Gold

Rumpelstiltskin

Rumpelstiltskin

Don't take my baby!

Don’t take my baby!

Cry....

Cry….

Got cha!

Got cha!

I feel that the iPod represent a good messenger characteristic. It’s solid and its function is to deliver music to my ear.

Fin

Fin

I struggled during the characters development process. I found it very challenging to insert human traits into lifeless objects. To resolve this, I set my mind into “as if” way of thinking. I imagined myself as the objects and think how I would react to a situation. The characters that I enjoyed exploring was Rumpelstiltskin (the onion) because he has quite a complex character. He is wicked yet has a soft spot for the Miller’s daughter.

I’ve received good feedback and constructive criticism from a guest tutor (Georgina Hounsome) and my peers. They like my characters development and experimentation of mark making and tonal studies. They also like the composition and repetition works especially in storyboard where it appear as a stage/theatre. The stark interior in my storyboard works well but I’ve been suggested that I should consider to continue the similar interior/background through the end so it will give the same feeling or atmosphere to the story as a whole.

Bellow pictures explained the part where I need to improve.

The miller and the king

The miller and the king

missed atmosphere

missed atmosphere

Surprisingly, in the end I enjoyed this subject. It has train my brain to explore my imagination. I have a better understanding about depicting story and exploring ways to engage audience with the story.

One Comment on “Giving life”

  1. Amelia says:

    Ayu,

    What captivating lively images well done!
    You really take us to the storytelling land, there is such a sense of space and place and very believable characters.

    I really look forward to seeing how your work develops this year, keep challenging yourself.

    Amelia


Leave a Reply

