Hidden Gem – Roman Gate, Caerleon

I found a hidden gem.

I was walking around Caerleon town in Newport few days ago. When I was walking along the main street, an alley on my right side caught my eyes. It was small. It’s a gate. Small craft shops and a caffe/restaurant are set along the alley with outside sitting area filled with sculptures made of stone and wood. Art & crafts everywhere. An 18th century garden at the back of the alley. A cul de sac. I felt like I was in a fairy land. The alley is called Roman Gate. It was the gate to Roman military army city. It is now an Ffwwrrwm art and craft centre.

It was a lovely town. You can find Roman style houses, church, fortress, barracks, an amphitheatre, leisure centre e.g. baths and gate in Caerleon. Caerleon, the Roman town of ISCA is one most important sites of Roman occupation in Britain.

Leave a Reply

