Scenic route

I enjoyed my time exploring the outskirt of Newport, so I came up with these traditional style paintings of watercolour inspired by the places I’ve visited. Locations that based these paintings are Tredegar house, abandon barn in Bishton, and Chepstow garden and grottoes. Inspired by David Hockey’s photo collage idea, I’ve included part of myself in the painting, the effect of this technique is that the artist is as if fully in the picture, but not.  In the summer I’d like to continue to produce more observational paintings. It was a good practice to train my senses and painting skill.

 

Ayu Baker - Broken window - Watercolour - April 2014

Ayu Baker – Broken window – Watercolour – April 2014

Ayu Baker - Stones - Watercolour - April 2014

Ayu Baker – Stones – Watercolour – April 2014

Ayu Baker - Steps - Watercolour - April 2014

Ayu Baker – Steps – Watercolour – April 2014

Leave a Reply

