Reflection (Individual and Collaboration)

At first I was a little nervous about the Field project because it involves collaboration with other students from different course. Field is a city based research project. I chose to base my work on migration theme that focus on cultural identity. I began my research by exploring and documenting Newport city through photography and sketches. I’ve also implemented history and development research from local library and museums. The research result fed the context for the body of works that I’ve produced. I’m fortunate to have collaboration and individual theme that support each other. The group theme is a raising awareness campaign/educating society in areas of multicultural city. I think we’ve done well as a team. I’m glad that as a group, we were able to work together effectively, communicated and shared our ideas, gave constructive inputs, improved our problem solving skill, and learnt new skill from each other. Particularly with my educational box design. I’ll always keep in mind the advised that Ugur (from product design) gave me; to consider the needs of people and how the product interact with existing products, and also to consider about the sustainability of the product. These are useful tips for design planning. I also learnt about designing posters for my editorial work from Georgia and Lauren (both from illustration), which I can use for my individual project. I’ve learnt a lot from my time in exploring the city and research. I’ve gained more confident in myself and was able to learn the communication skill especially when dealing with people and government body, but also in finding source for my future project.



Leave a comment