Encounter PDP

I always try to be on top of things and be organised and I did not think that I could feel this much pressure and tiredness at the same time until penultimate night of show build where things went not as planned. My preparation for the degree show has become a bit more of a priority at the beginning of term two. Days after my proposal for the exhibition display is approved, I started to do some research to get cheap breakfast table & chairs from the internet. While looking for the perfect furniture set, I wanted to do my second fabric newspaper, unfortunately the stock fabric was not available so I ended up remaking my 1st fabric newspaper with hand embroidery, in which meant it’s taking the time that I don’t have left to do other project. Once the newspapers are stitched, I made a model of the multi-sensory installation from doll-house furniture and foam board so that I can see what would it look like when the newspaper is suspended from the ceiling. The installation will also include buzzing sound using a headphone and a book explaining about Alzheimer’s disease. The book is meant to give an interesting new-way of looking at brain parts and its functions that could be damaged by the disease. The book was made by hand stitch and machine titled Alzheimer’s: within. Up until the crucial two-weeks of show build, I’ve made plans of what things I want to do first for my designated space and help each fellow out so that we can have a fantastic show, but unfortunately expectation and reality are two different things. I had fun and learnt so much from building our show and space. I learnt that compromise is the key to a great show, especially when we have limited space and time. Although, I do feel guilty for asking the show supervisor and technicians for help. I feel that I would rather do things by myself and I was not able to communicate my thoughts and plans smoothly and clearly. I was afraid of sounding like a demanding student. Nevertheless, I honestly cannot fault the help and assistant I received from everyone.

While working toward my degree show, I joined a group exhibition with my fellow final students (16 students). The Within/Without exhibition at PAPERArts, Bristol was a very valuable experience as it was my first “organised by our own show”. I learnt about curating the art and space from other students who had the experience before me. I also used the group show as a platform to practice my team work skill, networking and confidence.

For my own promotional reason, I sent our invitation to several organisations that deals with dementia such as the local Cardiff Alzheimer Society, Life org, carer org and CARIAD and SURPS members. The feedback I received so fas is that they are pleased with my reportage illustration – embroidery work and they are planning to go and see my work at the opening day. One positive thing that came out of sending personal invites is opening opportunity for me to be a part of group exhibition at Llandough Hospital gallery, University Hospital Wales. The show is meant for participating in the dementia week. The show will run from 9th May to 1st June, 2016. The object I am displaying are the brain parts which functions are significant for a person’s life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

